18-year old gymnast Brinn Bevan has been awarded with the Young Sports Personality of the Year for 2015.

The young British gymnast competed together with the Great Britain team and finished second at the 2015 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships in Glasgow last October.

The British athlete asserted that winning such award was the best way to to end such an unforgettable year.

brinnbevan

“It’s a great feeling to have won,” said Bevan, who trains in South Essex Gymnastics Club.

“It’s been quite a year for me.”

“There have been some ups and there have been some downs but all in all I’m pleased with it and this tops it off nicely.”

Aside from being a part of the silver-medal winning team at the World Championships in Glasgow, at the Bevan also took home a bronze medal in the pommel horse event at the 2015 Baku Games.

Regardless, his success at the World Championships remained the highlight of his very fruitful and successful career in 2015.

“The World Championships in Glasgow were essentially a home games and the atmosphere was crazy,” said Bevan.

“We went there trying to qualify for the Olympics which we did and then we just gave it everything we could in the team final which meant we managed to get silver.”

“I still look back on that competition quite often.”

“Everything about it was brilliant and it was one of the best events I’ve ever been to. “ But, just a month after impressing in Glasgow, Bevan suffered a double leg break while vaulting.”

brinn bevan

Despite previously suffering from an injury, Bevan is training rigorously to regain full fitness.

“I’m seven weeks post injury now and I’m starting to get back into things,” said Bevan.

“Things can only go upwards from here but I’ve come a long way already.”

“I’m working hard and I’m still training the same hours that I was before the injury.”

“I’m in the gym six days a week and there are still things I can do to keep myself my fit.”

“It’s even harder to come back when you’re unfit and not used to exercise so I’m making sure that doesn’t happen with me. “ Bevan will therefore continue with his training routine at the Basildon based South Essex Gymnastics Club.

Also, he refuses to get excluded from the selection of Olympic hopefuls who’ll compete in Rio de Janeiro this summer.

“It’s going to be a hard push but of course it’s possible,” said Bevan.

“My first target is to get back fit and be stronger than ever.”

“We have the Europeans, the test event in Rio and then the Olympics themselves.”

bevan

“But if I can get back to where I was and even better then hopefully I’ll be in a strong position to qualify.”

Bevan doesn’t know the time of his comeback, but he’s hoping to be able to take part at the British Championships in April.

“Whether or not I’ll be doing all six events by then I’m not sure, but hopefully I can do at least four,” said Bevan.

“Floor and vault will be the last two to come because they put the most strain on my leg.

“But I’m feeling much more positive about things now.

“The first week or two I felt a bit sorry for myself.

“I was in bed for the first week, but once I got out of that little trance I’ve been back in the gym and I’m more motivated than I ever have been before.”

Craving for more gymnastics-related articles? Then come and visit our official Facebook Page and keep in touch with our daily blog posts! Experience one of a kind training and education, enroll today at Bianka Panova Sport and Art Academy and train with our world-class gymnastics coaches 🙂 Come and learn gymnastics for kids with us 🙂

